Fine is an Ugly Word

Something about this one just spoke to me. From YWP..

It’s sad when you don’t feel special no more.
Makes your thoughts all jumbled
And your smile all sore.
Makes that mask you’ve been wearing
Feel just like your skin
And I’m not sure I like
This fake skin that I’m in.

And I’m not sure I like all these cellophane people
With their looking-glass thoughts
And their dirtied up steeples
Where they pray to get by just for just one little day
Where they tidy up numbers, all wasting away

With their dreams and ambitions all kept in a drawer
All locked up and socked up till they don’t shine no more.

I don’t wanna get by, I don’t wanna be fine!
Like the cellophane people who don’t cross the line
From their gray little quarters to their dull little lives
With their prim little daughters and their prim little wives.

So I wanna be messy and make people frown!
Well, its better than having it all upside down
In a neat little smile, in its sad little way
And I’m gonna be someone who’s special
Someday.

by clarahendersonsta

Leave a Reply

