Just Another Passing Day

Something about this poem grabbed me. I love the line that starts “While I…”

Just Another Passing Day

My kitchen is full of snow;

My bed is dripping wet, soggy, and soaked through.

Rain clouds hover just above my desk.

 

The mud that clogs the hallways,

Leaves behind a trail of shoes: wellies, trainers, sandals

The boots of people going places, going far

While I, well, I am here to stay.

 

The yard, now overgrown,

With green, brown, red, and blue,

My window faces trees

A golden against the sky

 

The colors vibrant against teh darkening veiw

Just another day that passes

But my feet have yet to wander

And as the sky darkens, I have to wonder, why?

 

The stream has turned orange,

The moss a bright blue,

One color melds into another,

And I find, that perhaps I have lost my shoes.

 

My feet are sunk deep,

In the ocean’s vast sands,

And my eyes have become heavy, very heavy

http://www.youngwritersproject.org/node/70704

Leave a Reply

