“I never know what I think about something till I read what I’ve written on it.”

-William Faulkner

I have a deep connection to this quote. I have experienced this phenomenon, and the first time that I remember feeling like this, It completely changed my life and my perception of writing. Writing is not merely the recording of thoughts or facts or internal monologue. Writing is the creation of thought, the development of opinions and beliefs, it’s the reordering and reorganization of your inner monologue. It forces you to understand what you are thinking, and synthesize it into a coherent message. Most people think in words, but most people leave those words in a somewhat jumbled heap in their minds. It is not until you force yourself to write your thoughts do you understand truly what you were thinking.

I never know…

Leave a Reply

