“Moo” by Bart the General

(Another poem borrowed from the youngwritersproject. An interesting look into two lives.)

Moo

That’s all it ever says:

Moo

I poke it, prod it with a stick, yet again I am greeted with:

Moo

I could have sworn there was a hint of annoyance in that one, the follow up is a bit louder:

MOO

I’ve been watching it all day. It’s just been sitting there. Grazing. Somtimes it utters a loud:

Moo

It’s your standard black and white, complete with everything you’d expect on a cow.

Moo

It’s got your large brown eyes, rough hide, four legs, and perhaps most importantly the utter.

Moo

It also has the compulsive desire to talk to me.

Moo

I don’t think she knows I can’t understand her yet, but I choose to let her think so for the moment.

Moo

Even cows need someone to talk to.

Moo

Even if they do get on your nerves every once in awhile.

Moo

Make that after every sentence.

Moo

This time when she does it clumps of grass that she had been chewing fall out of her mouth and land on the ground beside her.

Moo

She doesn’t have the best table manners, but is poilte enough I suppose.

Moo

Well, as polite as a cow can be at any rate.

Moo

I envy her life at times.

Moo

Chewing, tasting, swallowing, digesting, pooping, and moving a few feet to the left.

Moo

And the mooing.

Moo

Can’t forget the mooing.

Moo

That about consitutes the majority of her days.

Moo

Or at least I imagine so.

Moo

I can’t watch her every minute, so maybe she has other important things to do.

Moo

Cow things.

Moo

Like…..moo while they’re being milked.

Moo

Or talk to someone other than me.

Moo

But when I do find myself bored, I eventually make my way over to her pen.

Moo

And discuss important subjects like modern events, philosophy, and history from time to time.

Moo

Always responds the same way though.

Moo

Like that, every time, about everything.

Moo

“I got AP tests coming up this week, how about you?”

Moo

“What do you think about the presidential candidates?”

Moo

“Prom’s coming up this week too, do cows have anything like that?”

Moo

“Oh jeez. I’m going to college in about a year. Got any idea about what I should do with the rest of my life?”

Moo

“Where do you stand on the subject of abortion?”

Moo

Sometimes I wish I were a cow.

Moo!

I’d have no regrets, no worries, be outdoors constantly, and have a steady food supply.

Moo…

I could eat where I wanted, be assured that I’d always have somewhere to sleep, and be able to take a crap anywhere.

Moo

No AP tests, no college, no pressing issues to deal with, no philsophical conundrums to comprehend.

Moo

Man, cows have it all.

Moo…….

Well, except for the slaughtering part.

Moo.

I still want to be a cow.

Leave a Reply

